Indelible

For 2 Ring Fingers…

On the 7th day of June 2009, I walked down the aisle as a typical June bride of a very simple wedding. My husband and I did all the planning and preparations. We could not afford to hire a coordinator so we painstakingly did the efforts. Filed leaves from work to attend seminars and process legal documents just to make it possible. Flowers, photos and make-ups were sponsored. Sadly, there were no videos. Sigh! We did all means to save more and spend less. I created those very simple lovebird figurines to be our giveaways. Ribbons, laces and small cards with our wedding date and time made them appear flashy. Even the flower arrangement of the church, I accomplished it on the night before the big day. A neighbor lent their car – it was gray but it served the purpose as our bridal car. The flower decoration was still my effort. Gowns were just rentals, me, as the second user. We also saved printing service fees. I did the wedding invitation designs and my husband printed them at work. His colleagues cut them into desired forms and stapled them together before given to me to do the finishing touches. My sister’s classmate was the lady of ceremony for both the wedding proper and the reception program. The reception was held at a resort where we could afford the services and bought the cake there to save us from paying a corkage fee. Laugh! My husband’s sister filled the air with love songs. My sister arranged the garage to make it presentable as our homecoming reception. Extravagant weddings are not important. What matters most is the strong bond of love! ♥

Modern Manger

Sky was on his 6th month when we bought the crib. It is spacious, has playful colors, served as a safe playpen and a manger where he could soundly sleep. I’m a first-timer mom. Our baby boy was born on August 21, 2010 at 12:39 AM. He is the very first male grandchild on both families. Those stuffed toys were mine before. They were birthday presents from my friends but now that I’m already a mom, I forward them all to my kids. Kids? Yeah! I gave birth to a second child – a baby girl – on March 21, 2012. She is lovely as I am. Wink! Raine is also the first female grandchild of my family side. I already have a pair. Think I’m done? I don’t know. Laugh! Now that she’s here, things and stuffs that my baby boy owned were already hers too, including the crib, their manger of modern days. There lie our fruit labors of love! ♥

Love Seat

I am only 25 years old now. I already have 2 kids and a houseing loan! Well, I am still proud of it, at least, we have our rent to own home, 25 years from now. Yeah, that house is payable in long 30 years. Because it is expensive (to us), my husband and I agreed that we would not spend on expensive furniture and appliances yet. Instead, we go for low cost. We choose furniture designs from the internet. Then, my husband did the carpentry work. Cabinets, tables, cupboards, and those wooden sofas. I was pregnant then. I said, “I will not deliver this baby not until we totally arranged the house.” That was end of February, the month when we moved in. Those sofas were the last to build. Day after they were finished, I was admitted due to labor pains. A mom for the second time. When we went home, it was the first time I sit on our love seat. ♥

 

In respond to:

Weekly Writing Challenge: A Few of My Favorite Things

2 thoughts on “Indelible

  1. I do accept as true with all the ideas you have presented for your post. They are really convincing and can certainly work. Still, the posts are very short for novices. May just you please lengthen them a bit from next time? Thank you for the post.

What can you say?

