A Guide in my Head

Memory is my forte when I was an elementary student. My classmates would ask me how did I do it. Well, aside from constant studying and memorizing it over and over again, I used a mnemonic device. A mnemonic device is a sentence that helps us to memorize a string of words. Here, I will share the list of mnemonic device that I have used over a long period of time – since 7 years old, which until now could not get off my head.

Astronomy – this is my first mnemonic device. At Grade 1. I still couldn’t forget!

My Very Enthusiastic Mother Just Showed Us Nine Planets (Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto)

Calendar – oops, until now I still have to put my clenched fists together! 😉

The rhyme “Thirty days hath September” is commonly used for the number of days in the months of the year.

Thirty days hath September,

April, June, and November;

All the rest have thirty-one,

Except February, which has twenty-eight,

And twenty-nine each leap year.

The number of days in each month can also be determined by counting the knuckles and valleys on the back of each clenched fist. Each “knuckle” month has 31 days, while each “valley” month has only 30 days (except of course February).

Electronics – Oh, Electronics. This was my major in college. I only go for this course because of my scholarship grant and I don’t understand about it at first. But when we have the color coding of resistors, I enjoyed it!

Bad Boys Raped Our Young Girls But Violeta Gave Willingly represents Black(0), Brown(1), Red(2), Orange(3), Yellow(4), Green(5), Blue(6), Violet(7), Gray(8), White(9), Gold(5%), Silver(10%), None(20%)

Grammar – I am using this mnemonic every time I have an article to write for my part-time job. It rally helped me a lot!

De No Qua Si Sha Co Ma Pro No

Demonstrative Nominative Quality Size Shape Color Material Pronoun Noun

Trigonometry – I hate Math! I had low grades in it, especially the Trigonometry. But when my teacher gave us a mnemonic device about the subject, I now passed!

Remembering the definitions of sine, cosine, and tangent can be done by memorizing SOH-CAH-TOA, which helps to remind you that Sine = Opposite over Hypotenuse, Cosine = Adjacent over Hypotenuse, and Tangent = Opposite over Adjacent.

Music – I love music but I just fell out of tune. Still, I do not forget the basics.

5 lines of the treble clef (from the bottom line to the top): Every Good Boy Does Fine

4 spaces of the treble clef spell out (from the bottom to the top): FACE – Fat Albert Can Eat

Physics – At first (7 years old), I thought the colors of the rainbow was found there in the box of crayola box by 8’s. Thanks to this. 😉

The fictitious name Roy G. Biv is also used to remember the order of the colours of the rainbow. (red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, violet)

Spelling – I won the first place in spelling when I was in Grade 2 and my opponents are from Grade 1 – 6. There was no category, all the grades were mixed in one Spelling Bee!

I always comes before E (but after C, E comes before I): friend and receive

Where ever there is a Q there is a U too: queen

 

 

In respond to:

Weekly Writing Challenge: Stylish Imitation

One thought on “A Guide in my Head

What can you say?

