The Lullaby

An earworm is a piece of music that sticks in one’s mind so that one seems to hear it, even when it is not being played. Other phrases used to describe this include musical imagery repetition andinvoluntary musical imagery.

Sometimes called Sticky Music.

I always have this. I just don’t know but everytime I’m putting my baby down to sleep, the song that will automatically play in my head is I am But a Small Voice. Sounds familiar?

I wanted to attach a video here but not sure if I can. Anyway, here’s the lyrics. Just suit yourself in Youtube. 🙂

I am but a small voice

I am but a small dream

The fragrance of a flow’r 
In the unpolluted air 

I am but a small voice 
I am but a small dream 
To smile upon the sun 
Be free to dance and sing 
Be free to sing my song to ev’ryone 

Chorus: 
Come young citizens of the world 
We are one, we are one 
Come young citizens of the world 
We are one, we are one 

We have one hope 
We have one dream 
And with one voice 
We sing… 

Coda: 
Peace, prosperity 
And love for all mankind 

Peace, prosperity 
And love for all mankind 

(instrumental)

And here comes the Tagalog version:

Ako’y munting tinig 
May munting pangarap 
Samyo ng bulaklak 
Sa hanging malinis 

May ngiti sa araw 
At kung umuulan 
Makapagtampisaw 
Malayang daigdig 
Ng kawalang malay

472388_2967397153046_942177956_o

This song is very very lovely. When sang with matching caressing touch at the back, the baby would fall asleep so soundly. I knew this song since first year high school. After I learned the lyrics and tune, it couldn’t get out of my head already. So calming… I even sing this everyday as an escape from the busy world of a mom.

In respond to:

Daily Prompt: Earworm

One thought on “The Lullaby

  1. I remember when I was in 2nd grade, my teacher assigned me to lead in a group singing on a school’s closing ceremony. I believe this is sung by Leah Salongga.. Till now I can still sing the whole song. It’s beautiful song indeed. 🙂

What can you say?

