Reuse Empty Jars

As a mom at home, not only decorating the place is on the list but the food as well – desserts mostly. Weeks before Noche Buena, you might be gone into shopping and fill a big pushcart with food contained in cans or jars at the malls.

What to expect during the season that makes it a good move for a mom at home to prepare for supplies:

1. Malls are closed during the holidays so check the kitchen inventory and restock.

2. Unexpected visitors are to be expected so plan ahead your daily menu.

3. Parties are everywhere and it would be nice if you share some food to eat.

4. NOCHE BUENA for the Filipino family tradition.

5. Respect Filipino belief – a table filled with food is a sign of a blessed family.

And after the holidays are the empties – empty boxes, bags, jars, bottles – all sorts of it. This is the most common scenario that a mom at home deals with after a meaningful season. It’s easy to just throw them away, I know, but if you want some ideas, I’ll share.

My sister-in-law earns from those trashes. She sorted them first from one another and bring them to a junk shop. Each type of item has a different price per kilogram. It’s not a lot but it could give her enough for a snack.

That is the usual method, however, if you’re a DIY mom at home like me, you would reuse them. Here are the pics of my reused empty jars.

An empty jar of imported coffee given by my husband’s aunt. At first, it was reused as a container of iodized salt but left unutilized after our wedding for we received canisters for that purpose already. I grabbed it down to my study table, inserted a family  picture, adhered some scrapbook stickers, placed an angel figurine and it became a unique picture frame now!

2013-11-21 13.02.18

Another empty jar in sight which used to contain mayonnaise, then was reused as a sugar jar. Again I made my DIY idea possible. I placed one of my kids’ stuffed toys which is out of their interest because they love those big teddies more. The teddy bear is cute and just enough to fit inside the jar. I pulled some of the plastic flowers, as you see they came from the vase beside my first reused jar. Lol! To add some thoughts, I put a little message card. Though it’s not really a card. I just cut it out from a scrapbooking kit. You can make this as a giveaway or a present to someone so dearly. The effort would mean so much!

2013-11-22 16.12.07

My mom at home often texted me that electricity is still out in our province due to the 7.2 magnitude earthquake and typhoon Haiyan. A very useful way of reusing the empty jar is to make it an alternative light or wick lamp – commonly called lampara for Filipinos. Though power supplies are not functional, it would not deprive us to keep our homes lighted during the night. A candlelight evening at the porch or dinner would be very romantic for my mama and papa since only 3 of them are there and our youngest sister, Angeline, is busy sleeping. Lol!

lamp

Every time I put my DIY projects in the living room, I always got my son’s appreciation. “Wow! Nindut na atung balay, Ma!”. And my daughter’s reaction to the second creation, “Teddy nako!”

2 thoughts on “Reuse Empty Jars

  1. I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or tips. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read more things about it!|

What can you say?

