Chocolate Chip Cookie

As a housewife, I teach myself to learn and love the kitchen. LOL!  My husband’s request is to cook for him when he gets home. So I will sweat it out and grant it. I know basic cooking, of course, but my husband wants viands that are not everyday-foods. To begin with, I’ll study the most enjoyable activity in the kitchen – baking!

I already had a post here that I love baking so I could make a cake for my family whenever there’s an occasion. And that dream continue to linger in my heart until now. I have a friend whose baking started only as a passion. But now, it flourished into a wonderful business. She doesn’t feel pressured as she is enjoying every move, most particularly when it comes to designing the cakes depending on the themes requested by her customers/friends.

Let’s start with the basic. I bought the most basic baking tools too – measuring cups and spoons, and hand mixer!

And being a stay-at-home mom for nearly 3 years, I somehow know what makes my kids happy. I always wish for them to enjoy their childhood to the fullest while learning and growing. I want to do these in a form of bonding moments. So while I’m baking this easy recipe, chocolate chip cookies, my kids were by my side and act as my little helpers. 🙂 Railey hold the hand mixer while I’m gradually  pouring in the ingredients and Raine hold the mixing bowl to keep it steady.

Thanks to Panlasang Pinoy for the very easy-to-follow recipe. Now let’s get it on…

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup softened butter

1/2 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

2 pieces raw eggs

1 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

3/4 cup chopped walnuts

Cooking Procedure:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

2. Combine all-purpose flour, salt, and baking soda in a mixing bowl. Mix well and set aside. I wasn’t able to find a baking soda so I searched the net for an alternative. I used baking powder. One teaspoon of baking soda is equivalent to 4 teaspoons of baking powder. This is good for pancakes, cookies, biscuits, cakes and any recipe that needs baking soda.

3. On another mixing bowl, beat the butter. Gradually pour in the sugars while beating. Next, the vanilla extract and eggs (one piece at a time). Gradually add the flour, salt, and baking powder mixture. Add in the chocolate chips and chopped nuts. I don’t like nuts so much so I didn’t bother putting them. Instead, I put a lot of chocolate chips. Beat until all the ingredients are well-mixed.

4. Prepare parchment papers in a baking tray. Arrange some scoops of mixture on the parchment paper.

5. Bake in the oven for 7 to 9 minutes. Let cool and serve.

IMG_20141018_214025

My kid-assistant, Railey, kept an eye on the oven and called my attention whenever the oven alarms. Too excited for the chocolate chip cookies! As I’ve said on my earlier post, kids get excited to eat the food when they know they’re involved in preparing it. Indeed, they couldn’t stop munching the Chocolate Chip Cookies! This is the first and they’re waiting for the next baking moments.

IMG_20141018_192125

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookie

What can you say?

